Order ticket
news

FIRST CITY TELEPHONE EXCHANGES

After 1878, when the Russian Army adopted this new form of communication, the Telegraph Department also became interested in it for their communication needs. In November 1879 the chief of the St. Petersburg Telegraph division, F.Y. Gervart, was mandated to conduct experiments on 'using a phone for telegraphing on our telegraph lines and stations.'

And, in September 1881, the General Conditions for Design and Operation of urban telephone messages were approved. Telephony was recognized as a government monopoly but entrepreneurs also had the right to build and operate public telephone networks (individuals, companies and joint-stock companies). This required a contract with the Telegraph Department of the Ministry of the Interior Affairs for 20 years. After this time the telephone networks were transferred to the government.

As a result, Bell's International Telephone Company undertook the construction of the first urban telephone networks in Russia. The Bell Company had by that time much telephone networks operating experience in the United States and many European cities.

The first telephone stations in the Russian Empire (St. Petersburg, Moscow, Odessa and Riga) were built and commissioned almost simultaneously - in 1882. In St. Petersburg, a site for the central office was set aside on Nevsky Prospect, 26 (Hansen's house). Similarly in Moscow, at Kuznetsk Bridge (in the Popov house). A few years later, in 1885-86, telephone networks in Nizhny Novgorod, Libau, Revel, Rostov-on-Don and Baku were equipped and opened.

The construction of an urban telephone network financed by state funds was carried out in Kiev. There, on April 1, 1886 the first government telephone network was opened.

/telephone_history/razvitie-telefonnoy-svyazi-v-rossii/first-city-telephone-exchanges-/index.php
/

ЗАПИСЬ НА ЭКСКУРСИЮ

Чтобы вживую ознакомиться с экспонатами нашего музея, заполните, пожалуйста, эту небольшую форму заявки:

Защита от автоматических сообщений

CAPTCHA

Введите слово на картинке *

ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ


Защита от автоматических сообщений

CAPTCHA

Введите слово на картинке *
Санкт-Петербург | Москва
RU | EN | DE | FR | ES
Заказать экскурсию
+7 (495/499)800-13-30
Первые городские телефонные станции

Первые городские телефонные станции

После того как в 1878 году русская армия приняла на вооружение новый вид связи, телефонами заинтересовался и Телеграфный департамент. В ноябре 1879 года начальнику Петербургского телеграфного округа Ф. Я. Герварту было поручено провести опыты «применения телефона к телеграфированию на наших телеграфных линиях и станциях.

И уже в сентябре 1881 года были утверждены «Основные условия устройства и эксплуатации городских телефонных сообщений. Телефонная связь признавалась правительственной монополией, но право строительства и эксплуатации телефонных сетей общего пользования получали и частные предприниматели (отдельные лица, акционерные общества и компании). Для этого требовалось заключить контракт с Телеграфным департаментом Министерства внутренних дел на 20 лет, по истечении данного срока телефонные сети должны были передаваться правительству.

В итоге за строительство первых городских телефонных сетей в России взялась Международная компания телефонов Белла, имевшая к тому времени опыт эксплуатации телефонных сетей в Америке и многих городах Европы.

Первые городские телефонные станции в Российской империи (в Санкт-Петербурге, Москве, Одессе и Риге) были построены и введены в эксплуатацию почти одновременно — в 1882 году. В Петербурге место для Центральной телефонной станции было определено на Невском проспекте, 26 (в доме Гансена), в Москве — на Кузнецком Мосту (в доме Попова). Спустя несколько лет, в 1885–1886 годах, были оборудованы и открыты телефонные сети в Нижнем Новгороде, Либаве, Ревеле, Ростове-на-Дону и Баку.

Опыт строительства городской телефонной сети на «казённые средства» состоялся в Киеве. Там 1 апреля 1886 года была открыта первая правительственная телефонная сеть.