/en/telephone_history/russkie-izobretateli/vladimir-borisovich-jacobi-30-8-1884/index.php
/en/

Joining excursions

To see our museum exhibits live, please fill in this short form to sign up:

CAPTCHA

CAPTCHA

Type the letters you see on the picture *

FEEDBACK


CAPTCHA

CAPTCHA

Type the letters you see on the picture *
St. Petersburg | Moscow
RU | EN | DE | FR | ES
+7 (495)825-03-85
To book a tour
+7 (495/499)800-13-30
VLADIMIR BORISOVICH JACOBI (? – 30.8.1884)

VLADIMIR BORISOVICH JACOBI (? – 30.8.1884)

The first experiments on long distance telephone connections were conducted in Russia by the military. In the army, the testing of telephone devices that appeared in the country in late 1877, was entrusted to Colonel V.B. Jacobi.

A Russian military engineer and inventor, V.B. Jacobi was the son of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences scientist B.S. Jacobi, himself the creator of the electric motor, as well as the first electrotyping machine.

Having received education at the family home of the academic Struve and then special education at the Nicholas School of Engineering, V.B. Jacobi joined the Caucasian Battalion of Technicians. He then served in the Engineering School, where he was appointed as Commander of His Highness the Grand Duke Nicholas (senior) battalion. V.B. Jacobi was later seconded to the Technical Galvanic Institution. He was an active member of the Imperial Russian Technical Society in the Photographic and Electrical Department.

In 1878 V.B. Jacobi established telephone communication between two islands in the Trångsund Strait over a distance of 7 km and then, in Finland, a military airline telegraph over a distance of about 30 km.

After testing many field telephones, which were bulky and weighed about 22 kg, Jacobi invented a portable device (1881), intended for military field communications and named it the 'Telekal'. Essentially it was a vibrating telephone signal device.

In 1882 the Telekal was successfully demonstrated at the 2nd St. Petersburg Electrotechnical Exhibition and was later tested at the Nikolayev railway.

Jacobi was adamant that soldiers could be trained in handling these phone devices with ease and in the shortest possible time. And he was right!

Another famous invention of V.B. Jacobi was the mikromikrofon.

V.B. Jacobi died in poverty in August 30, 1884.

/telephone_history/russkie-izobretateli/vladimir-borisovich-jacobi-30-8-1884/index.php
/

ЗАПИСЬ НА ЭКСКУРСИЮ

Чтобы вживую ознакомиться с экспонатами нашего музея, заполните, пожалуйста, эту небольшую форму заявки:

Защита от автоматических сообщений

CAPTCHA

Введите слово на картинке *

ОБРАТНАЯ СВЯЗЬ


Защита от автоматических сообщений

CAPTCHA

Введите слово на картинке *
Санкт-Петербург | Москва
RU | EN | DE | FR | ES
Заказать экскурсию
+7 (495/499)800-13-30
Владимир Борисович Якоби (? – 30.8.1884)

Владимир Борисович Якоби (? – 30.8.1884)

Первые опыты телефонной связи на большие расстояния проводились в России военными. В армии испытание телефонных аппаратов, появившихся в стране в конце 1877 года, было поручено подполковнику В. Б. Якоби.

Русский военный инженер, изобретатель В. Б. Якоби был сыном академика Петербургской Академии наук Б. С. Якоби — создателя электродвигателя, а также первого буквопечатающего аппарата.

Получив домашнее воспитание в семействе академика Струве и специальное в Николаевском инженерном училище, В. Б. Якоби поступил на службу в Кавказский саперный батальон. Затем он служил в инженерном училище, после был назначен командиром роты Его Высочества великого князя Николая Николаевича (старшего). Позже В. Б. Якоби прикомандировали к техническому гальваническому заведению. Он состоял действительным членом Императорского русского технического общества по фотографическому и электротехническому отделам.

В 1878 году В. Б. Якоби установил телефонную связь между островами Транзундского пролива на расстояние более 7 км, а затем в Финляндии по воздушной линии военного телеграфа — на расстояние около 30 км.

После испытаний полевых телефонов, которые были громоздкими и весили около 22 килограммов, В. Б. Якоби изобрел в 1881 году портативный аппарат, предназначавшийся для военно-полевой связи и названный им «телекаль». По существу он представлял собой вибрационный телефонный сигнальный прибор.

В 1882 году телекаль с успехом демонстрировался на II Петербургской электротехнической выставке, а после был испытан на Николаевской железной дороге.

Якоби был уверен, что солдат можно обучить обращению с этими телефонными приборами в самые краткие сроки и без малейших затруднений. И он оказался прав.

Еще одним известным изобретением В. Б. Якоби является микромикрофон.

Умер изобретатель в бедности 30 августа 1884 года.