Order ticket
news

ANTONIO MEUCCI

Antonio Meucci is a central figure in the history of the telephone. Today the entire progressive world pays tribute to this genius of a man. On June 11, 2002 the U.S. Congress passed a resolution that recognized the true inventor of the telephone as not Alexander Graham Bell, but a talented Italian scientist called Antonio Meucci. Though too late, truth triumphed.

Antonio Meucci was born in Florence on April 13, 1808. From early childhood he was passionately interested in the secret forces of electricity. In the exploration of these mysteries he devoted all his spare time. .

In 1837, in search of a better life, Meucci and his wife Esther travelled to the New World. But they stopped in Cuba. He worked for some time in Havana as a leading stage mechanic in the local theater, continuing at the same time to solve scientific puzzles.

Creating a small generator, Meucci unexpectedly found that the current, among other things, had a healing effect on the human body. After that he began to practice medicine successfully.

In 1849, during one of his procedures, Meucci attached wires to the lips and mouth of a patient. He took a seat at the generator in another room. Suddenly he distinctly heard the cry of the patient. Suddenly Meucci realised he had made ​​an important discovery: an electric current is capable of transferring the sound at a distance, the sound vibrations being converted into electrical signals and back again. .

In 1850, after the death of his wife, the inventor moved to New York, where he began to work on a device, which he later called the Telektrofon (more precisely, in Italian, the 'Telettrofono'). This device consisted of a transmitter (a drawer with a small tube, with a large opening at the end like an ear cone); a receiver (a wooden base with an inductor and a resonator attached), a power supply and cables. The resonator in the transmitter (microphone) picked up sound vibrations and the electromotive force was induced in the internal coil (inside the drawer). Current through the wires fed into the receiver coil and forced the second resonator to vibrate on its own.

Antonio Meucci devoted ten years of his life to this invention. In 1860, using his last money, he published a note in an Italian newspaper, stating that after years of painstaking work he had successfully invented sound running through wires - i.e. the telektrofon.

Meucci offered his invention to be development by a major U.S. Company (Western Union). He was promised cooperation. But for a long time the Company showed no interest in Meucci's invention. In 1871, the scientist applied for a patent for his invention and began to wait patiently. In 1874, he was informed that all the technical documentation had been mislaid. Then, in 1876, Antonio Meucci learned from American newspapers about the great invention of the telephone by Alexander Graham Bell.

Meucci began court proceedings against Western Union. The court battle naturally required huge funds, however, which the plaintiff simply did not have. The litigation lasted 11 years. In 1887 he managed to get his patent back from the archives. Moreover, the court in New York was on the side of Meucci, but this did not help: the validity of the patent application had already expired.

Two years later, the Italian genius, who could rightly stand shoulder to shoulder in history alongside the names of his illustrious countrymen like Leonardo da Vinci, Michelangelo and Galileo, died after failing to climb out of poverty. During his life Meucci's copyright that revolutionized the world of communications was not recognized.

Заказать экскурсию
news

АНТОНИО МЕУЧЧИ (ANTONIO MEUCCI)

Антонио Меуччи является центральной фигурой в истории создания телефона. Сегодня должное этому гениальному человеку отдает весь прогрессивный мир. 11 июня 2002 года Конгресс США принял резолюцию, в которой признал подлинным изобретателем телефона не Александра Белла, а талантливейшего итальянского ученого Антонио Меуччи. Хоть и слишком поздно, но правда восторжествовала.

Антонио Меуччи родился во Флоренции 13 апреля 1808 года. С самого раннего детства его страстно интересовали «тайные силы» электричества. Исследованию этих тайн он и посвящал все свободное время.

В 1837 году в поисках лучшей жизни Меуччи вместе с супругой Эстер отправился в Новый Свет. Но остановился на Кубе. Некоторое время работал в Гаване ведущим механиком сцены в местном театре, продолжая вместе с тем разгадывать научные загадки.

Создав небольшой электрогенератор, Меуччи неожиданно обнаружил, что ток, ко всему прочему, оказывает оздоравливающее воздействие на организм человека. После этого он начал успешно заниматься врачебной практикой.

В 1849 году, во время одной из процедур, Меуччи присоединил проводки к губам и полости рта пациента, а сам занял место у генератора в другой комнате. Вдруг он отчётливо услышал возглас больного. Так Меуччи сделал важное открытие: оказывается, электрический ток способен переносить звук на расстояние, звуковые колебания могут превращаться в электрические и наоборот.

В 1850-м, после смерти жены, изобретатель переехал в Нью-Йорк, где начал целенаправленно трудиться над устройством, которое позже назвал «телектрофон», точнее, на итальянский манер — telectrofono. Это устройство состояло из передатчика (ящичка с небольшой трубкой, расширенной на конце подобно слуховому рожку); приёмника (деревянной платформы с катушкой индуктивности и присоединённым к ней резонатором), источника питания и проводов. Резонатор в передатчике (микрофон) улавливал звуковые колебания и вызывал электродвижущую силу во встроенной катушке (внутри ящичка). Ток по проводам поступал в приёмник, и его катушка заставляла вибрировать второй резонатор, собственный.

Этому изобретению Антонио Меуччи посвятил десять лет жизни. В 1860 году он на последние деньги опубликовал в итальянской газете сообщение, что после долгих лет кропотливого труда изобрел «звук, бегущий по проводам» — телектрофон.

Свое изобретение Меуччи предложил к разработке крупной американской компании Western Union. Ему обещали сотрудничество. Но долгое время к изобретению Меуччи в солидной компании не проявляли никакого интереса. В 1871 году ученый подал заявку на патент на свое изобретение и принялся терпеливо ждать. В 1874 году автора уведомили, что вся техническая документация утеряна. А в 1876 году Антонио Меуччи узнал из американских газет о великом изобретении телефона Александром Беллом.

Меуччи начал судебное разбирательство с Western Union, но на это были необходимы денежные средства, которыми истец не располагал. Тяжба длилась 11 лет. В 1887 году ему все-таки удалось вернуть из архивов компании свой патент. Более того, суд Нью-Йорка оказался на стороне Меуччи, но ему это не помогло: срок действия патентной заявки к тому времени уже истёк.

Спустя два года гениальный итальянец, чье имя по праву должно было бы стоять в истории в одном ряду с именами его прославленных земляков — Леонардо да Винчи, Микеланджело и Галилея, скончался, не сумев выкарабкаться из бедности. При жизни Меуччи его авторство на изобретение, совершившее революцию в мире коммуникаций, так и не было признано.