Order ticket
news

DAVID EDWARD HUGHES

David Edward Hughes was born on May 16, 1831 in London. He was seven years old when the family moved to the United States. Interestingly, in his childhood and youth, he showed talents for, not science and technology, but music.

Therefore, when he finished schooling he took up a professorship at St. Joseph's College in Bardstown (Kentucky) Hughes, where he began working as a music teacher. However, he soon became interested in mechanical and electrical experiments, equipment for which he designed and constructed. Already in the following year he was appointed to the Science Department and began teaching physics and more.

In 1853, Hughes left teaching and moved to Bowling Green (Kentucky), where most of his time was devoted to scientific and technical creativity, earning a living and funding his experiments by giving private music lessons.

His first success came for inventions in the field of telecommunications.

In 1854 he created a printing telegraph, which used synchronized printing drums for transmitting and receiving. It was achieved due to the fact that both drums rotated using the same clock mechanism. Controlling the speed of each mechanism was carried out by an adjustable vibrating spring. Both clock mechanisms rotated at the same speed, creating fluctuations in the springs of the same sound frequency. The frequency generated by the springs was compared with the known frequency of the tuning fork. Then, using the printing drums, start signals would launch at the same time.

In 1856, Hughes received a patent for his invention and began working with the American Telegraph Company, which almost immediately launched his device. It was first used for communication between Worcester and Springfield in Massachusetts. .

Almost all countries in continental Europe appriciated the invention: Hughes was awarded medals and honorary titles by France, Russia, Austria and Turkey.

In 1865, in connection with the installation of his unit to the St. Petersburg to Moscow telegraph line, Hughes made ​​a trip to St. Petersburg and, at the invitation of Alexander II in Tsarskoye Selo, gave a speech, which was attended by the Emperor and Empress.

The sale of licenses for his printing telegraph provided Hughes with financial independence. In 1877 he and his wife settled permanently in London, devoting himself entirely to science.

The scientist was well aware that the telephone was valuable, not only as a means of communication, but also as an object of scientific research. In 1877, Hughes invented an improved microphone, which was a modification of the Thomas Edison carbon transmitter. In his work the inventor tried a variety of configurations and combinations of materials. In one design of the microphone, a carbon diamond-shape element was freely held in a vertical position between two carbon blocks and the device was equipped with a membrane.

Hughes played an important role in improving the microphone by introducing the induction balance in 1879. The principle of this device was by then already known. Hughes' merit was in the application of the phone and the microphone to increase the sensitivity of the balance.

In February 1880 David Edward Hughes, in his London laboratory, showed the President of the Royal Society (Academy of Sciences) and two honorary secretaries how, with the use of a simple circuit consisting of a microphone and a phone, he could detect, even at a quarter mile distance, the previously unknown air power wave generated by a spark discharge. Back then scientists and guests present did not see anything special in the Hughes experiments.

After almost 20 years the newspaper Globe wrote: "Hughes' experiments in 1879 actually represented the invention of Hertz waves before Hertz, the coherer invention before Branly and the invention of wireless telegraphy before Marconi and others."

At the end of 1880, Hughes was elected to the Royal Society and, in 1885, he was awarded a gold medal for his numerous scientific achievements. After his death the Royal Society established the Hughes Medal, awarded in his honour ever since 1902.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ДЭВИД ЭДВАРД ХЬЮЗ (DAVID EDWARD HUGHES)

Дэвид Эдвард Хьюз (в старой транскрипции — Юз) родился 16 мая 1831 года в Лондоне. Ему было семь лет, когда семья перебралась в США. Интересно, что в детские и юношеские годы его талант проявился не в науке и технике, а в музыке.

Поэтому по окончании колледжа Св. Иосифа в Бардстауне (штат Кентукки) Хьюз начал работать преподавателем музыки. Однако вскоре серьезно увлекся механическими и электрическими опытами, оборудование для которых проектировал и изготавливал сам. Уже в следующем году он был назначен на кафедру точных наук и стал преподавать еще и физику.

В 1853 году Хьюз оставил учительство и переехал в Боулинг-Грин (штат Кентукки), где большую часть своего времени посвящал научно-техническому творчеству, зарабатывая на жизнь и опыты частными уроками музыки.

Первый успех пришел к Хьюзу как изобретателю в области электросвязи.

В 1854 году он создал печатающий телеграфный аппарат, в котором применялась синхронизация печатающих барабанов передающего и приемного устройств. Она достигалась в результате того, что оба барабана приводились во вращение с помощью идентичных часовых механизмов. Управление скоростью каждого механизма осуществлялось посредством регулируемой вибрирующей пружины. Когда оба часовых механизма вращались с одинаковой скоростью, пружины создавали колебания одной и той же звуковой частоты. Генерируемые пружинами частоты сравнивались с известной частотой камертона. Затем с помощью стартовых сигналов печатающие барабаны запускались в один и тот же момент времени.

В 1856 году Хьюз получил патент на свое изобретение и стал работать в Американской телеграфной компании, которая практически сразу внедрила его аппарат. Впервые он был применен для связи Ворчестера и Спрингфилда в Массачусетсе.

Изобретение высоко оценили практически все страны континентальной Европы: Хьюз был награжден медалями и почетными титулами Франции, России, Австрии, Турции.

В 1865 году, в связи с установкой его аппарата на телеграфной линии Петербург — Москва, Хьюз совершил поездку в Санкт-Петербург и по приглашению Александра II прочел в Царском Селе лекцию, на которой присутствовали император и императрица.

Продажа лицензий на печатающий телеграфный аппарат обеспечила Хьюзу финансовую независимость. В 1877 году вместе с женой он навсегда поселился в Лондоне, полностью посвятив себя науке.

Ученый прекрасно осознавал, что телефон ценен не только как средство связи, но и как объект научных исследований. В 1877 году Хьюз изобрел улучшенный микрофон, который был модификацией углеродистого передатчика Томаса Эдисона. В процессе работы изобретатель испробовал различные конфигурации и сочетания материалов. В одной из конструкций микрофона ромбовидный угольный элемент свободно удерживался в вертикальном положении между двумя угольными колодками; устройство было снабжено мембраной.

Микрофон сыграл важную роль в усовершенствовании индукционных весов, которые были разработаны Хьюзом в 1879 году. Принцип этого устройства был к тому времени давно известен. Заслуга Хьюза заключалась в применении микрофона и телефона для повышения чувствительности весов.

В феврале 1880 года Дэвид Эдвард Хьюз в своей лаборатории в Лондоне продемонстрировал президенту Королевского общества (Академии наук) и двум почетным секретарям, как с помощью простой схемы, содержащей микрофон и телефон, обнаруживать, даже на расстоянии в четверть мили, неизвестные ранее «воздушные электрические волны», создаваемые искровым разрядом. Но тогда ученые гости не увидели ничего особенного в опытах Хьюза.

Спустя почти 20 лет газета Globe писала: «Опыты Хьюза за 1879 год фактически представляли собой открытие герцевых волн до Герца, изобретение когерера до Бранли и изобретение беспроволочного телеграфа до Маркони и других».

В конце 1880 года Хьюз был избран членом Королевского общества, в 1885 году награжден его золотой медалью за многочисленные научные заслуги. После смерти ученого Лондонское королевское общество учредило в честь изобретателя медаль Хьюза, присуждаемую с 1902 года.