Order ticket
news

EDWARD ALFRED GRAHAM

Edward Alfred Graham founded the British Company Alfred Graham & Co. Unfortunately, there exists very little information about this Company and its founder. According to some sources, Alfred Graham & Co. started its operations at the end of the 1880s, when the phone was only beginning to develop. At their factory in Halifax (Canada), they began to produce characteristic wall-mounted telephones for ships. There is not much information about these telephones either, most information coming from the archives on ship history or specialized catalogs.

The so-called marine telephones were significantly different from the usual models, as they were applied in a very specific environment. The constant vibration of the engines, as well as atmospheric corrosion (from salt in the air or from the ash or coal dust in the boiler) are obviously not conducive to good communication. Therefore it was necessary to improve these devices. Alfred Graham & Co. undertook this task.

Phones for vehicles were made ​​of heavy brass, which has high corrosion resistance. Parts of the casing had very close fitting that blocked salty air from infiltrating into the electrical parts. Phones used large diaphragms to ensure the highest possible level of sound. In noisy environments telephone receivers were equipped with special tubes to further enhance the sound. Alarm buzzers were also preferred.

To overcome the unreliability of a ship's power supply, Graham returned to the original Bell's sensor (electrodynamic model). For the Bell phone, with such a structure, the transmission range of sound was too limited, although the strength of the signal over short distances seemed quite adequate

In contrast, for marine communications systems this type of sensor, given the limited distance on the ship, was well suited. These sensors were reliable and were therefore an acceptable option on warships, where the battery might suffer damage during the combat. In 1898 most of the British fleet was equipped with Graham telephones.

The Company prospered most during the period 1900-20, when there was an increase in the construction of large ships and warships. On many famous ships, not only the UK ones, Graham machines were used. The new plant, built in Brackley in 1911, helped to meet increased demand. And by 1919, the Graham Company could proudly claim that it produced devices that were installed on 12,000 ships.

By the end of the First World War, the Company was in a great financial position, but the decline in orders was inevitable. The number of contracts with warships dropped: those who remained in the service did not require re-equipment for many years. The Company needed a change of direction. In 1924 the head office moved to London.

The new firm Graham Amplion, established in 1920, began producing loudspeakers, phonographs, and later, its own wireless receivers. Branches were opened in the U.S. and Canada.

However, they continued to manufacture ship's communications systems.

With the end of World War II, during which business was not very successful, the story ended for Graham Amplion.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ЭДВАРД АЛЬФРЕД ГРЭМ (EDWARD ALFRED GRAHAM)

Эдвард Альфред Грэм — основатель британской компании «Альфред Грэм & Co». К сожалению, сохранилось очень мало сведений как о самой компании, так и о ее создателе. По некоторым источникам, «Альфред Грэм & Co» начала свою деятельность в конце 1880-х годов, когда телефония только начала развиваться. На заводе, построенном компанией в Галифаксе (Канада), стали выпускать настенные телефонные аппараты характерной модели для кораблей. Но даже об этих телефонах сегодня информации немного, в основном из архивов по истории кораблей, а также специализированных каталогов.

Так называемые морские телефоны существенно отличались от обычных, так как применялись в особенной среде. Постоянная вибрация из-за работы двигателей, а также атмосферная коррозия (от соли в воздухе либо от золы или угольной пыли в котельных), очевидно, не способствовали хорошей связи. Поэтому аппараты было необходимо совершенствовать. Этим и занялась компания «Альфред Грэм & Co».

Телефоны для кораблей производили из тяжелой латуни, которая обладает высокой коррозийной стойкостью. Части корпуса аппарата очень плотно прилегали друг к другу, что блокировало поступление соленого воздуха в электрические детали. В телефонах использовались большие диафрагмы — для обеспечения максимально возможного уровня звука. Приемники для телефонов в шумных местах были оснащены трубами для дальнейшего усиления звука. Предпочтение было отдано сигнализации зуммер.

Чтобы преодолеть ненадежность судовых блоков питания, Грэм вернулся к исходному датчику Белла, электродинамической модели. Для телефона Белла при таком устройстве дальность передачи звука была слишком ограничена, хотя сила сигнала на короткие расстояния представлялась вполне адекватной.

Напротив, для морских систем связи данный тип датчика, учитывая ограниченное расстояние на корабле, вполне подходил. Эти датчики отличались надежностью, а потому были приемлемым вариантом для военных кораблей, где заряд батареи мог быть отрезан в ходе боевых повреждений. В 1898 году большая часть британского флота была оснащена телефонами Грэма.

Лучшим временем для компании стал период с 1900 по 1920 год, когда увеличилось строительство крупных лайнеров и военных кораблей. На многих известных кораблях, и не только Великобритании, использовались аппараты Грэма. Новый завод, построенный в Брэкли в 1911 году, помог удовлетворить спрос. И к 1919 году компания Грема могла с гордостью утверждать, что выпускаемые ею аппараты были установлены на 12 тысячах судах.

К концу Первой мировой войны компания была в прекрасном финансовом положении, но снижение числа заказов было неизбежно. Количество договоров с боевыми кораблями сократилось: тем, которые оставались на службе, повторная экипировка не требовалась в течение многих лет. Компании было необходимо иное направление деятельности. В 1924 году головной офис переехал в Лондон.

Новая фирма Graham Amplion, созданная в 1920-х годах, стала производить громкоговорители, граммофоны, позже — собственные беспроводные приемники. Были открыты филиалы компании в США и Канаде.

Вместе с тем продолжалось и производство судовых систем связи.

С концом Второй мировой войны, во время которой дела у компании шли не очень успешно, окончилась и история Graham Amplion.