Order ticket
news

GEORGE M. PHELPS

The inventor George Phelps was born in the U.S. in 1820. Upon reaching adulthood, he worked for several years in his Uncle's Company as a machinist. At the age of 30, Phelps opened his first shop. By this time he was well versed in technology and had received several patents.

During the 1840s, George Phelps' attention was riveted to the invention of the electromagnetic writing telegraph. Phelps was interested in the possibilities of developing the Morse machine.

When, in 1853, David E. Hughes, then a young physics teacher from Kentucky, and later the famous English and American inventor, worked on the printing telegraph, George Phelps actively helped him to improve the device.

Later George Phelps specialized in telegraph apparatus. It is believed that he created the most successful printing telegraph. In his device, Phelps used a piano-like keyboard with 28 keys (including mark and space keys). He also used an electro-magnetic regulator for work at high speeds, having realised the ability of different energy sources (compressed air, steam and, later, the electric motor).

The printing telegraph using George Phelps' motor was created in 1875. The device provided a transfer rate of up to 60 characters per minute (in comparison to the Morse telegraph which yielded up to only 30 characters per minute). The device shown in an exhibition in Philadelphia in 1876 was then used on the busiest lines of the United States.

James D. Reid, a recognized 19th Century authority in the field of telegraphy, had a very high opinion of the Phelps printing Telegraph, considering to be an example of the highest achievements of the human mind. In his book, The Telegraph, published in 1879, Reid calls Elisha Gray, Thomas Edison and George Phelps the most significant and prominent inventors of their time.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ДЖОРДЖ ФЕЛПС (GEORGE M. PHELPS)

Изобретатель Джордж Фелпс родился в США в 1820 году. Достигнув совершеннолетия, он в течение нескольких лет работал на предприятии своего дяди в качестве машиниста. В возрасте 30 лет Фелпс открыл свой первый магазин. К этому времени он прекрасно разбирался в технике и уже получил несколько патентов.

В течение 1840-х годов внимание Джорджа Фелпса было приковано к изобретению электромагнитного пишущего телеграфа. Фелпса интересовали возможности развития аппарата Морзе.

Когда в 1853 году Дэвид Э. Хьюз, тогда молодой преподаватель физики из Кентукки, а позже известный английский и американский изобретатель, работал над созданием печатающего телеграфного аппарата, Джордж Фелпс активно помогал ему в усовершенствовании устройства.

В дальнейшем Джордж Фелпс специализировался на телеграфных аппаратах. Считается, что именно он создал наиболее удачный печатный телеграф. Фелпс использовал в устройстве клавиатуру, подобную фортепианной — из 28 клавиш (включая точку и клавишу «пробел»). Также он применил электромагнитный регулятор для работы на высоких скоростях, реализовав возможность выбора источника энергии (сжатый воздух, пар, позднее — электрический двигатель).

Печатный телеграф с использованием электродвигателя Джордж Фелпс создал в 1875 году. Аппарат обеспечивал скорость передачи до 60 символов в минуту (для сравнения: телеграфные аппараты Морзе — до 30 символов в минуту). Устройство, представленное на выставке в Филадельфии в 1876 году, нашло применение на наиболее загруженных линиях США.

Джеймс Д. Рейд, признанный авторитет в области телеграфа XIX века, был очень высокого мнения о печатном телеграфе Фелпса, считая его «образцом самых высоких достижений человеческого разума». В своей книге The Telegraph, опубликованной в 1879 году, Рейд называет Илайшу Грея, Томаса Эдисона и Джорджа Фелпса самыми значимыми и видными изобретателями своего времени.