Order ticket
news

INNOCENZO MANZETTI

More than 15 people at different times, from 1876 to 1901, made court challenges against Bell's patent, but their ambitions were not satisfied. Among those who claimed to be the first in creating the phone was also Innocenzo Manzetti, Italian inventor, who claimed that his device was invented in 1865.

Manzetti was born in Aosta on March 17, 1826. His interests were very diverse. In 1855 Innocenzo invented a hydraulic machine and, in 1864, built a steam-powered vehicle. Among his other inventions were surveying instruments; special pantographs for reproduction on ivory reliefs, marble or wood; telescopes with three converging lenses that enabled the user to observe movement at a distance of more than 4 miles (7 km) and pendulum clocks, which worked continuously for a whole year after being wound just once.

In 1844 Manzetti first got the idea to create a talking telegraph. In other words, the telephone. In the early 1860s he began to work hard on its creation. In the years 1864-65 Innocenzo created an electrical device that could transmit the human voice up to half a kilometer away. In the summer of 1865 the unit was introduced to the press. Newspapers all over the world were vying to report on it.

The articles briefly described the operation of the electric telephone capable of accurately reproducing music and loud speech, but suffered interference with quiet sounds.

The author of an article published in one Paris newspaper, wrote: "Now two traders can discuss their business plans instantly by simply calling from London to Calcutta. Manzetti's experiments were successful enough for his invention to be used practically."

However, these articles were not enough and so the glory passed by the Italian inventor who could have been called the first but is now part of forgotten history.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ИННОЧЕНЦО МАНЦЕТТИ (INNOCENZO MANZETTI)

Более 15 человек в разное время, с 1876 по 1901 год, пытались оспорить в суде приоритет Белла, но их амбиции так и не были удовлетворены. В числе тех, кто претендовал на первенство в создании телефона, был и итальянский изобретатель Инноченцо Манцетти, который утверждал, что придумал свой аппарат еще в 1865 году.

Манцетти родился в городе Аоста 17 марта 1826 года. Его интересы оказались весьма разноплановыми. В 1855 году Инноченцо изобрел гидравлическую машину, а в 1864 году построил паровой автомобиль. Среди других его изобретений — геодезические инструменты; специальный пантограф для воспроизводства барельефов на слоновой кости, мраморе или дереве; телескоп с тремя сходящимися линзами, что давало возможность пользователю наблюдать движение на расстоянии более 4 миль (7 км); маятник для часов, позволяющий механизму работать целый год после одного завода.

В 1844 году у Манцетти впервые возникла идея создать «говорящий телеграф», другими словами — телефон. В начале 1860-х годов он начал усиленно работать над его созданием. В 1864-1865 годах Инноченцо создал электрический аппарат, который мог передавать человеческий голос на полукилометровое расстояние. Летом 1865 года аппарат был представлен прессе. Газеты всех стран мира наперебой сообщали об этом изобретении.

В статьях кратко описывался принцип работы электрического телефона, способного четко воспроизводить музыку и громкую речь, но создающего помехи в случае поступления тихих звуков.

Автор материала, опубликованного в одной из парижских газет, писал: «Теперь два торговца смогут обсудить свои бизнес-планы мгновенно, просто позвонив из Лондона в Калькутту. Эксперименты Манцетти были достаточно успешными для того, чтобы его изобретение можно было использовать практически».

Однако для суда этих «вещдоков» оказалось недостаточно, и слава прошла мимо итальянского изобретателя, который мог называться первым, а в результате почти забыт.