Order ticket
news

LARS MAGNUS ERICSSON

World-famous Swedish inventor and entrepreneur, founder of Ericsson, one of the largest manufacturers of telecommunications equipment, Lars Magnus Ericsson glorified his name so that it became a household word.

Lars Magnus was born on May 5, 1846 in the vicinity of the Vegerbol village to a farming family of modest means. He was the sixth child and, just like his brothers and sisters, never attended a day of school. Lars Magnus was 12 years old when the family lost their father and breadwinner. The boy was forced to go to work. At the age of 15, he moved to Norway, where he worked as a miner and blacksmith. Six years later he returned to Sweden and settled in Stockholm. He worked in electromechanical workshops (repairing telegraph equipment) and in the evening he studied hard.

In 1867, Ericsson joined Ollers & Co., the first Swedish electrical engineering company. Six years later, he again left home and stayed in Germany, where he worked for his future competitors: first as a draftsman in Berlin, at Siemens & Halske, then in Bern, at Hasler & Escher. With experience and knowledge in 1875 Lars returned to Stockholm. On the eve of his 30th birthday, April 1, 1876, together with a colleague from previous work in Ollers & Co (Carl Andersson) he founded the firm 'Electromechanical Workshops L.M. Ericsson & Co.' (LME), which was supposed to repair telegraph and signaling equipment. But some time later, the company began to manufacture its own products and devices, e.g. desk phones with a magneto and a mouthpiece. As a distinguished engineer, Ericsson was the creator of most of his Company's developments. The various pparatus, which it manufactured, were nicknamed 'telephone Rolls Royces'.

Despite the fact that, in 1880, the Bell Company, LME's main competitor, built the first commercial line in Stockholm, Ericsson took revenge the very next year and won the tender for the supply of telephone equipment to the Swedish national telephone association, called Telegrafverket. During the next five years 64 of the 93 Swedish cities were telephonized by Ericsson. When Telegrafverket established its own production, however, Ericsson sales fell sharply. The situation was rescued by foreign orders that came from Denmark, Australia, New Zealand and Norway. A concession for the construction of a telephone exchange in Shanghai was also obtained. In London they opened a sales office and then a manufacturing plant. When, at the turn of the century in South Africa, the Anglo-Boer War broke out, LME supplied a large number of field telephones. At the beginning of the 20th Century Ericsson opened an office and factory in New York. At the same time they launched a large-scale project to build a telephone exchange in Mexico City.

The greatest demand for Ericsson phones came from Russia. They were inexpensive, had good quality and a loud clear sound. Ericsson even offered to change residence and become a Russian resident.

In 1893 the Company telephonized Kiev. Then, in 1896, Kharkiv. Followed by Rostov in 1897, Riga, Kazan and Tiflis (all in 1900). In 1897 Ericsson opened its St. Petersburg factory, which took two years to build by St. Petersburg architect K. Schmidt.

In 1901, aged 55 years, Ericsson resigned as President of the Company he created. In 1903 he sold all his shares to his companions and returned to his homeland. There he spent thirteen years building the 'ideal farm' with full electrification. And when he finished, he gave it to his youngest son and moved to a neighboring farm. The Ericssons had the privilege of the royal house of Bernadotte, which only one other Sweden family has. He earned himsalf lifetime free calls within his country. At home Ericsson received royal honors.

Lars Magnus Ericsson died on 17 December, 1926 at the age of 80. According to his will, there would be no ceremonies, not even a gravestone. "Nameless I came into this world, I want to leave it namelessly," said Ericsson.

His wish was fulfilled only in part. He was laid to rest in an unmarked grave but his name became known worldwide. To this day the Company is growing and thriving thanks to its founder chosing the right path.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ЛАРС МАГНУС ЭРИКССОН (LARS MAGNUS ERICSSON)

Всемирно известный шведский предприниматель и изобретатель, основатель компании Ericsson, одного из крупнейших производителей телекоммуникационного оборудования, Ларс Магнус Эрикссон настолько прославил свое имя, что оно стало нарицательным.

Родился Ларс Магнус 5 мая 1846 года в окрестностях деревушки Вегербол в семье небогатых фермеров. Он был шестым ребенком и так же, как и остальные братья и сестры, даже не переступил порога школы. Ларсу Магнусу было 12 лет, когда семья лишилась отца и кормильца. Мальчик был вынужден отправиться на заработки. В возрасте 15 лет он перебрался в Норвегию, где трудился шахтером и кузнецом. Спустя шесть лет он вернулся в Швецию и обосновался в Стокгольме. Работал в электромеханических мастерских (чинил телеграфное оборудование), а вечером упорно учился.

В 1867 году Эрикссон поступил на службу в Ollers & Co — первую шведскую фирму, сосредоточившую свое внимание на электротехнике. Через шесть лет он снова покинул родину и остановился в Германии, где работал на своих будущих конкурентов: сначала чертежником в Берлине, в Siemens & Halske, затем в Берне, в Hasler & Escher. Набравшись опыта и знаний, в 1875 году Ларс вернулся в Стокгольм. И накануне своего 30-летия, 1 апреля 1876 года, вместе с коллегой по прежней работе в Ollers & Co Карлом Андерссоном основал фирму «Электромеханические мастерские LM Ericsson & Co» (LME), которая предполагала заниматься ремонтом телеграфных аппаратов и сигнального оборудования. Но уже некоторое время спустя компания стала выпускать и аппараты собственного производства — настольные телефоны с магнето и рупором. Выдающийся инженер, Эрикссон был автором большинства разработок своей фирмы. Аппараты, которые она выпускала, называли «телефонными роллс-ройсами».

Несмотря на то что в 1880 году Bell Company, главный конкурент LME, построила первую стокгольмскую коммерческую линию, уже в следующем году Эрикссон взял реванш — победил в конкурсе на поставку телефонного оборудования для шведской национальной телефонной ассоциации Telegrafverket. В течение следующих пяти лет фирмой Эрикссона были телефонизированы 64 из 93 городов Швеции. Но когда Telegrafverket наладила собственное производство, уровень продаж продукции Ericsson резко снизился. Дело спасли иностранные заказы, которые поступали из Дании, Австралии, Новой Зеландии, Норвегии, была получена концессия на строительство телефонной станции в Шанхае. В Лондоне открылось торговое представительство, а затем и завод компании. Когда на рубеже веков в Южной Африке разразилась англо-бурская война, LME поставляла туда большое количество полевых телефонов. В начале XX века офис и фабрика Ericsson появились в Нью-Йорке. Одновременно началась реализация масштабного проекта строительства телефонной станции в Мехико.

Но более всего телефонные аппараты Эрикссона были востребованы в России. Стоили они недорого, отличались качеством и обладали громким ясным звуком. Эрикссону даже предлагали поменять прописку и стать русским поданным.

В 1893 году компания телефонизировала Киев, в 1896 — Харьков, в 1897 — Ростов, в 1900 — Ригу, Казань и Тифлис. В 1897 году в Санкт-Петербурге была открыта фабрика Эрикссона, которая строилась на протяжении двух лет петербургским архитектором К. Шмидтом.

В 1901 году, в возрасте 55 лет, Эрикссон покинул пост президента созданной им компании. В 1903 году он продал все свои акции компаньонам и вернулся на родину. Там он тринадцать лет строил «идеальную ферму с полной электрификацией». А когда закончил — подарил ее младшему сыну, перебравшись на соседнюю ферму. У Эрикссонов была привилегия, которой в Швеции помимо них обладала лишь одна семья — королевский дом Бернадотт. Это пожизненная бесплатная телефонная связь на территории страны. На родине Эрикссон получил королевские почести, соответственно заслугам. Впрочем, пользовался он до самой смерти только этой привилегией.

Ларс Магнус Эрикссон умер 17 декабря 1926 года в возрасте 80 лет. Согласно завещанию не было никаких церемоний, не установили даже могильного камня. «Безымянным я вошел в этот мир, безымянным я хочу из него и уйти», — говорил Эрикссон.

Его пожелание сбылось лишь отчасти. Он упокоился в безымянной могиле, но его имя стало известным всему миру. По сей день фирма Эрикссона ширится и процветает: основатель выбрал верный путь.