Order ticket
news

LOUIS JOHN CROSSLEY

In 1877 Alexander Graham Bell visited England, where he demonstrated his phone to various business and scientific organizations but nobody expressed special interest in his invention. However, despite the lack of public enthusiasm, European inventors took into account Bell's invention and began experimenting with the device. Many of them were well versed in the natural sciences and also had sufficient funds to carry out experiments. These including the Englishman Louis Crossley, son of a wool production plant owner in Halifax.

Crossley was a young man in poor health, but of great ability. At an early age he explored a lot of equipment in his father's factory. At the age of 19 he began to study electricity with John Waterhouse, one of the pioneers in this field. Later Crossley, for first time in the history of British Industry, applied electricity to light the family enterprise.

In 1865 he married. He then built his own house, which had special areas for laboratories and workshops, where Crossley continued his studies.

The curious mind of Crossley was interested in Bell's invention. For his experiments to improve the phone he built a pair of telephones. The main goal of its development, which took place almost simultaneously with Ader's experiments in France and Blake's in the U.S., was to overcome the limitations of distance voice transmission over the telephone.

Crossley and Ader independently turned to the work of Professor Hughes, a British-born American inventor who, in 1877, created an improved microphone, a carbon transmitter of Thomas Edison. But this device was not perfect.

The microphone, invented by Crossley, made ​​it possible to transmit sound over a distance of up to eight miles. Phones with the new device were put into production. In 1879 the United Telephone Company bought a patent from Crossley for his invention for £20,000. Soon Crossley phones with carbon microphones were put into mass production. All this happened within three years after obtaining a patent by Bell. Thus, the phones with the Crossley device were first used en masse.

The British Post Office, which caught up with the times, purchased the unit in large quantities. They paid attention to them both home and abroad: Australia, South America and, according to some sources, they were evaluated in Japan.

Crossley excelled in various fields. In addition to inventing he was seriously interested in meteorology and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Meteorological Society. In addition, he headed the board of directors of the family company, which manufactured carpets.

Crossley died in 1891, shortly after he returned from a cruise, which was intended to improve his poor health.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ЛУИ ДЖОН КРОССЛИ (LOUIS JOHN CROSSLEY)

В 1877 году Александр Белл посетил Англию, где продемонстрировал свой телефон различным деловым и научным организациям, но тогда особого интереса к его изобретению никто не проявил. Однако, несмотря на отсутствие общественного энтузиазма, европейские изобретатели приняли во внимание открытие Белла и начали экспериментировать с аппаратом. Многие из них прекрасно разбирались в естественных науках и к тому же имели достаточно средств на проведение экспериментов. В том числе и англичанин Луи Кроссли, сын владельца завода по производству шерсти в Галифаксе.

Кроссли был молодым человеком слабого здоровья, но больших способностей. Еще в раннем возрасте он пытливо исследовал различное оборудование на заводе отца, а в 19 лет начал изучать электричество у Джона Уотерхауса, одного из пионеров в этой области. Позднее Кроссли впервые в истории промышленности Великобритании применил электричество, чтобы создать освещение на семейном предприятии.

В 1865 году он женился и построил собственный дом, в котором были специальные помещения под лаборатории и мастерские, где Кроссли продолжал свои исследования.

Пытливый ум Кроссли интересовало изобретение Белла. Для своих опытов по усовершенствованию телефона он и смастерил пару аппаратов. Основная цель его разработок, которые проводились практически одновременно с экспериментами Адера во Франции и Блэйка в США, состояла в преодолении ограниченности расстояния передачи речи по телефонному аппарату.

Независимо друг от друга Кроссли и Адер обратились к работе профессора Хьюза, английского и американского изобретателя, который в 1877 году создал улучшенный микрофон — модификацию углеродистого передатчика Томаса Эдисона. Но и это устройство не было совершенным.

Микрофон, изобретенный Кроссли, делал возможной передачу звука на расстояние до восьми миль. Телефоны с новым устройством были запущены в производство. В 1879 году фирма United Telephone Company купила у Кроссли патент на его изобретение за двадцать тысяч фунтов, и вскоре телефоны с угольным микрофоном Кроссли были запущены в массовое производство. Все это произошло в течение трех лет после получения патента Беллом. Таким образом, телефоны с устройством Кроссли первыми стали применяться массово.

Британское почтовое отделение, шедшее в ногу со временем, приобрело аппараты в большом количестве. Обратили на них внимание и за границей — в Австралии, Южной Америке, а согласно некоторым источникам, оценены они были и в Японии.

Кроссли преуспел в разных областях деятельности. Помимо изобретательства он серьезно интересовался метеорологией и был избран членом Королевского метеорологического общества. Кроме того, он возглавлял совет директоров семейной компании — производителя ковров.

Кроссли умер в 1891 году, вскоре после того, как вернулся из круиза, в котором намеревался улучшить свое слабое здоровье.