Order ticket
news

WERNER VON SIEMENS

Today, the German multinational corporation Siemens, working in the field of electrical engineering, electronics, power equipment and many other things, is one of the largest in the world. The Company was named after its founder, Ernst Werner von Siemens, the eminent German engineer, inventor, scientist and industrialist, public and political figure, one of the founders of modern telecommunications technologies.

Werner von Siemens was born on December 13, 1816 in Lenthe near Hanover (Lower Saxony) and was the fourth child in a family of fourteen. When his parents were gone, Werner was 24 years old and on his shoulders lay the responsibility for a large family of ten brothers and sisters.

In 1845 he became one of the most prominent young scientists in the newly formed Physics Society. In 1846, having studied the Charles Winston electric telegraph, Siemens created from scrap materials a more advanced version, the dial telegraph. On October 1, 1847 in Berlin, together with a young mechanic Johann Georg Halske he decided to create a telegraph construction company Telegraphen-Bau-Anstalt von Siemens & Halske to construct their projects. By the year end, the Company employed 10 people. In 1849, S & H Company built the first telegraph line in Germany from Berlin to Frankfurt am Main.

Starting from 1853, the Company S & H erected several telegraph lines in Russia, linking St. Petersburg to Kronstadt, Helsingfors, Warsaw, Riga, Reval and took on their maintenance.

Siemens had already become internationally recognized as an authority in the field of electrical engineering 35 years earlier. In 1860 he was awarded an honorary doctorate of philosophy at Berlin University.

In 1867, he created a perfect DC generator with self-powering electro-magnetic field coils (dynamo).

In the years 1868-70 the Company S & H participated in the construction of the Indo-European telegraph line from London to Calcutta (with a length of 11,000 km).

In 1873, the Company S & H built the cable ship 'Faraday', which for 10 years of his work laid the six transatlantic cables up to 80,000 kilometers.

In July 1874, Siemens became a member of the Prussian Academy of Sciences. In 1877, the Company S & H produced Bell handsets and, in 1881, participated in the construction of the first telephone exchange in Berlin.

In 1879, the Company S & H presented the first electric railway at the Berlin Industrial Exhibition; in 1880 at an exhibition in Mannheim, the world's first elektrolift; in 1881 they built the first electric tram line on the outskirts of Berlin; and in 1882 they started a trial operation of road transport.

In 1888, Werner Siemens was elevated to the nobility and became Werner von Siemens. The following year, he began to gradually move away from active participation in the affairs of the Company. While still with his Company, including subsidiaries in London, St. Petersburg and Vienna, he already employed 5,000 people. On December 31, 1889 Siemens resigned as head of the firm. But he did not leave his passion of inventiveness.

In 1892, at the age of 75, he created a steel tape armor for the protection of underground cables from mechanical damage. In the same year, on December 6, Werner von Siemens died.

***

Siemens enterprises owe virtually all of their achievements to their leader's research and inventive abilities. His contribution to the German and European electrical industrial development is difficult not to overestimate. Siemens was the initiator of the establishment of Berlin's electro-technical Union (1879), as well as founder and chairman of the Patents society in Berlin. Werner von Siemens is also known as a patron of science and culture. He funded the establishment of the Berlin National Laboratory for Physics and Technology; thanks to his efforts and monetary support the Physico-Technical Institute was opened in Charlottenburg.

Заказать экскурсию
news

ЭРНСТ ВЕРНЕР ФОН СИМЕНС (WERNER VON SIEMENS)

Сегодня германская транснациональная корпорация Siemens, работающая в области электротехники, электроники, энергетического оборудования и многого другого, является одной из крупнейших в мире. Названа компания по имени своего основателя — Эрнста Вернера фон Сименса (более точный вариант транскрипции фамилии — Зименс), выдающегося немецкого инженера, изобретателя, учёного и промышленника, общественного и политический деятеля, являющегося одним из основоположников современных телекоммуникационных технологий.

Вернер Сименс родился 13 декабря 1816 года в имении Ленте под Ганновером (Нижняя Саксония) и был в семье четвертым ребёнком из четырнадцати. Когда родителей не стало, Вернеру было 24 года, и на его плечи легла ответственность за многочисленную семью из десяти братьев и сестёр.

В 1845 году он стал одним из наиболее заметных молодых учёных в недавно образованном Физическом обществе. В 1946 году, изучив электрический телеграф Чарльза Уинстона, Сименс создал из подручных материалов его более совершенную версию — стрелочный телеграф. А 1 октября 1847 года в Берлине вместе с молодым механиком Йоханом Георгом Халске он решил создать телеграфно-строительную компанию по реализации телеграфных проектов Telegraphen-Bau-Anstalt von Siemens & Halske. К концу года в фирме работало 10 человек. В 1849 г. фирма S&H построила первую в Германии телеграфную линию Берлин — Франкфурт-на-Майне.

Начиная с 1853 года фирма S&H возвела несколько телеграфных линий в России, связав Санкт-Петербург с Кронштадтом, Гельсингфорсом, Варшавой, Ригой, Ревелем и приняв на себя их техническое обслуживание.

Всемирно признанным авторитетом в области электротехники Сименс стал уже в 35 лет. В 1860 году ему было присвоено звание почётного доктора философии Берлинского университета.

В 1867 году ученый создал совершенную конструкцию генератора постоянного тока с самовозбуждением (динамо-машину).

В 1868–1870 годах компания S&H участвовала в сооружении Индоевропейской телеграфной линии Лондон — Калькутта протяжённостью 11 000 км.

В 1873 году фирма S&H построила кабельное судно «Фарадей», которое за 10 лет своей работы проложило шесть трансатлантических кабелей длиной в 80 000 километров.

В июле 1874 года Сименс стал членом Прусской академии наук.

В 1877 году фирма S&H выпускала телефонные трубки Белла, а в 1881 году участвовала в строительстве первой в Берлине телефонной станции.

В 1879 году компания S&H представила на Берлинской промышленной выставке первую электрическую железную дорогу; в 1880 году на выставке в Мангейме — первый в мире электролифт; в 1881 году построила первую линию электрического трамвая на окраине Берлина; в 1882 году начала опытную эксплуатацию безрельсового транспорта.

В 1888 году Вернер Сименс был возведён в дворянское сословие и стал Вернером фон Сименсом. На следующий год он начал постепенно отходить от активного участия в делах фирмы. В то время в его компании, включая дочерние предприятия в Лондоне, Санкт-Петербурге и Вене, насчитывалось уже 5000 сотрудников. 31 декабря 1889 года Сименс оставил пост руководителя фирмы. Но не оставил своего увлечения изобретательством.

В 1892 году, в возрасте 75 лет, он создал стальную ленточную броню для защиты подземных кабелей от механических воздействий. В том же году, 6 декабря, Вернер фон Сименс скончался.

***

Практически всеми своими достижениями предприятия Сименса обязаны исследовательским и изобретательским способностям своего руководителя. Его вклад в развитие немецкой и европейской электротехники сложно переоценить. Сименс — инициатор образования Берлинского электротехнического союза (1879 год), а также основатель и председатель Общества патентов в Берлине. Также Вернер фон Сименс известен как меценат в области науки и культуры: он профинансировал создание Берлинской национальной физико-технической лаборатории; благодаря его усилиям и денежной поддержке в Шарлоттенбурге открылся Физико-технический институт.