Order ticket
news

GRIGORY IGNATIEV (1846-1898)

In 1880, the Russian military communications engineer G.G. Ignatiev designed the world's first system of simultaneous telegraphy and telephony on the same wire.

G.G. Ignatiev was born on September 11, 1846 in the province of Poltava. Upon completing Moscow Military Engineering School, he was appointed lieutenant to serve in the 7th Military Telegraph Park where he trained soldiers in alarm installation, building telegraph lines and work on the telegraph apparatuses generally.

In 1878, on the initiative of the St. Petersburg Engineers Corps in the Telegraph Parks, telephones were sent for testing to pave the way for their use in the army's telecommunications facilities.

Heading the 7th Military Telegraph Park, Captain Ignatiev oversaw experiments which were conducted with existing telegraph wire and special telephone lines. During testing, when telephones were connected through the telegraph wire, Ignatiev found that normal conversation was only possible when the telegraph apparatus was switched off. Interference from the telegraph was so strong that the telephone conversation was quite impossible. So G.G. Ignatiev set himself the task of eliminating this interference, for which he proposed the use of a condenser as a variable frequency current divider (between the telegraph and the telephone). Incidentally, P.M. Golubitsky, completely independently of Ignatiev, also introduced the use of a condenser for the same purpose.

To compensate for the inductance of electromagnets in the telegraph design, Ignatiev applied special coils with two windings, one of which was included in the curcuit, while the other remained with ends disengaged. As a result, the telegraph pulses were sharper. Thus the clarity of the devices' performance increased without any perceptible increase in interference.

In 1880, Ignatiev demonstrated his system in action at the Physics Department in Kiev University and, in early 1881, it was successfully tested near Kiev between mine technicians and infantry camps over 14.5 km apart. This system was later used in the Russian army. (It should be noted that Ignatiev produced his first devices using personal funds and, only in 1888, did he manage to obtain 500 rubles from the War Department to construct more advanced devices).

The Ignatiev system didn't receive large notoriety as his achievements remained in the domain of the military. It was only in 1892 that he was allowed to exhibit his devices at the 4th St. Petersburg Electrotechnical Exhibition, where he was awarded a golden medal.

Заказать билет
news

Григорий Григорьевич Игнатьев (1846-1898 годы)

В1880 году русский военный связист инженер Г. Г. Игнатьев первым в мире разработал систему одновременного телеграфирования и телефонирования по одному и тому же проводу.

Родился Г. Г. Игнатьев 11 сентября 1846 года в Полтавской губернии. По окончании Московского военно-инженерного училища он в чине поручика был назначен на службу в 7-й военно-телеграфный парк, где обучал солдат сигнализации, постройке телеграфных линий и работе на телеграфных аппаратах.

В 1878 году по инициативе Петербуржского инженерного корпуса в телеграфные парки были направлены для испытаний телефонные аппараты, чтобы решить вопрос о возможности использования нового средства электрической связи в войсках.

Организацию опытов, которые проводились как со специально построенными для этого линиями, так и с существующими телеграфными проводами, в 7-м военно-телеграфном парке поручили капитану Игнатьеву. Во время испытаний, когда телефонные аппараты были включены в телеграфный провод, Игнатьев установил, что нормальный разговор возможен только при выключенных телеграфных аппаратах. Помехи от действия телеграфа были настолько сильны, что телефонный разговор был совершенно невозможен. Г. Г. Игнатьев поставил перед собой задачу устранить эти помехи, для чего предложил применять конденсатор в качестве разделителя тока различных частот — телеграфных и телефонных. (Почти одновременно с Игнатьевым, но абсолютно независимо от него конденсатор для этих же целей использовал и другой русский изобретатель — П. М. Голубицкий.)

Для компенсирования индуктивности электромагнитов телеграфного аппарата Игнатьев применил специальные катушки с двумя обмотками, одна из которых включалась в цепь, а другая оставалась с разомкнутыми концами. В результате этого телеграфные импульсы получали более резкие очертания — четкость работы аппаратов увеличивалась без заметного усиления помех.

В 1880 году Игнатьев продемонстрировал свою систему в действии в физическом кабинете Киевского университета, а в начале 1881 года она была успешно испытана под Киевом между саперными и пехотными лагерями на линии длиной 14,5 км. После этого систему использовали в русской армии. (Надо заметить, что первые свои аппараты изобретатель делал на личные средства, и только в 1888 году ему удалось получить от военного ведомства 500 рублей на изготовление более совершенных приборов.)

Широкой известности система Игнатьева не получила, так как была достоянием военного ведомства. И лишь в 1892 году автору было позволено экспонировать свои приборы на IV Петербургской электротехнической выставке, где он был награжден золотой медалью.